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APPLICATION PROCEDURES FOR APPROVAL OF 

PROVIDERS AND ACTIVITIES AS 

NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION 

DELIVERED IN A DISTANCE EDUCATION FORMAT 

 
Persons or institutions seeking approval to offer continuing education activities should read the following before filling out the 
various application forms so as to familiarize themselves with the procedures involved with submitting an application(s) 
pursuant to Sections 81-885.49 through 81-885.54 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act and Title 299, Chapter 7 of the 
Rules and Regulations of the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. 
 

ARELLO DISTANCE EDUCATION CERTIFICATION REQUIRED 
 
Title 299 Chapter 7 Section 003.02 sets forth the following; AContinuing education activities offered in a distance education 

format must be certified by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials. A student must complete the distance 
education activity within one year of the date of enrollment. Distance education as it is used in this chapter shall mean courses 
in which instruction does not take place in a traditional classroom setting but rather through other media where instructor and 
student are separated by distance and sometimes by time.@ (Emphasis added) ARELLO Certification must encompass the 

entire delivery stream.  If a combination of Primary or Developer/Secondary provider are involved all entities must have 
achieved Certification. 
 

THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT (ADA) 
 
Real Estate Educators have responsibilities under the ADA.  Any private entity that offers courses (activities) or examinations 
related to licensing for professional or trade purposes must offer such courses (activities) or examinations in a place and 
manner accessible to all persons, or offer alternative but equal arrangements.  This may include the provision of auxiliary aids 
and services for persons with disabilities.  For more information please contact your Equal Employment Opportunity 
Commission. 
 

GENERAL APPROVAL REQUIREMENTS 
 

Each application for continuing education approval consists of all of the following, 1-4, and must be received in the 

Commission Office at least 30 days in advance of the program being offered for credit. 
 

1) Submit the Activity Sponsor Application (DE-1) with a copy of the ARELLO Certification Summary Sheet for 
each entity involved in the delivery stream. 

 

2) Include the Activity Application (DE-2) along with an outline of the subject matter to be covered in the continuing 
education activity, including a time allotment schedule. Note:  No continuing education activity can be less than a total 
of three clock hours. Activities are approved in 3-hour increments based on a 50-minute hour. 

 
Learning objectives must be incorporated into continuing education activity outlines. These should reflect the goals 
your activity has been developed to meet. Time allotments should also reflect these goals and objectives. 

 
Also requested is a reference to major resource materials upon which the activity relies. If these cannot be simply 
denoted, please include copies of these resources at time of application 
 

3) Access to the actual activity. 
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 Form DE-1 

 REAL ESTATE CONTINUING DISTANCE EDUCATION  

 ACTIVITY SPONSOR APPLICATION 

 
SPONSOR NAME                                 DATE                 

 

SPONSOR ADDRESS                              PHONE                

 

CITY, STATE, ZIP                                                  

 

WEBSITE                              E-MAIL                       

 

CONTACT PERSON                               PHONE                

 

TITLE OF CONTACT PERSON     
SCHOOL OWNERS/DIRECTORS 

 
Name                               Address                                  

 

City                               State                Zip                 

 

Name                               Address                                  

 

City                               State                Zip                 

 

Name                               Address                                  

 

City                               State                Zip                 

 

  

ATTENDANCE MONITORING POLICY:  Provide a statement explaining how you 
intend to verify student identity and monitor 100% participation.  

                                                                             

                                                                             

                                                

ADMISSION/REFUND POLICY:  Provide a statement explaining your admission 
policy and how refunds are to be made. 

                                                                             

                                                                             

                                              N/A I have enclosed the 

activity sponsor application fee (if applicable).  

 

 

 

 

-over- 
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EXAM and RE-EXAM PROCEDURES (if applicable):  Provide a 

statement explaining your exam procedure and your policy for make-

up exam(s). 

 

                                                                   

                                                                   

                                                                  

 

METHOD OF RECORD MAINTENANCE:  Provide a statement explaining 
your procedure for maintaining all continuing education records for 

a minimum of four years. 

 

                                                                   

                                                                   

                                                                     
THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT (ADA).  Any private entity that 
offers courses or examinations related to licensing for professional or trade 

purposes must offer such courses or examinations in a place and manner accessible 

to all persons, or offer alternative but equal arrangements.  This may include 

the provision of auxiliary aids and services for persons with disabilities.  For 

more information please contact your Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. 

  
 

I hereby certify that all information supplied herein and on all attachments is 

true and accurate and that this program will be conducted in compliance with the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).  I attest that the sponsor of this 

activity has not had a real estate education certification revoked by any 

regulating entity of any state or jurisdiction. 

 

SIGNATURE OF CONTACT PERSON:                             

 

DATE:                     
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FORM DE-2 

 REAL ESTATE COMMISSION  

 DISTANCE EDUCATION 

 ACTIVITY APPLICATION 

 
ACTIVITY SPONSOR:                                        

 

ACTIVITY TITLE:                                     _________     

 

DELIVERY METHOD:_________________________________________________ 

 

TOTAL HOURS OF ACTIVITY: ______ Total CE Hours Requested:_______ 

      

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LIST MAJOR REFERENCE MATERIALS USED IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THIS 

ACTIVITY: 

                        ______       _____                      

 

THE INSTRUCTOR(S)/SUBJECT MATTER EXPERT(S) FOR THE ACTIVITY WILL 

BE: 

                                                                  

 

THE MAIN BENEFIT TO THE CUSTOMERS/CLIENTS OF THE LICENSEE WHO 

COMPLETES THIS ACTIVITY WILL BE:                                  

 

                                                                  

 

SIGNATURE OF ACTIVITY SPONSOR:                                    

 

 

DATE_____________ 

  

 

 

-over- 

 

 

 

 

 

ENCLOSED WITH THIS APPLICATION IS: 

    

N/A the Activity application fee (if applicable) 

____a copy (or description) of all activity materials 

____a copy of the final exam and answer key (if applicable) 

____a copy of the completion certificate 

____a copy of all proposed advertising 

____all other applicable fees 
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 Time: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
DETAILED CONTENT 

OUTLINE Break into 

approximately 15-minute 

segments as indicated 

by time equivalency 

studies. 

 
LEARNING OBJECTIVES 
Please provide a minimum of 3 

to 5 learning Objectives for 

every 3 hours of your activity. 

 A Learning Objective defines: 

 "WHAT WILL THE STUDENT BE ABLE 

TO DO UPON COMPLETION OF THIS 

ACTIVITY?" 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
SAMPLE: 

 
 

 
 

 
5 minutes 

 
Five fiduciary 

responsibilities of an 

agent to his client  

 
The student will be able to 

define either verbally or in 

writing the 5 fiduciary 

responsibilities an agent has 

to his client, and give an 

example of how each of the 5 

responsibilities could be 

applied in a real estate 

transaction. 
 
10 minutes 

 
a. confidentiality 

 

 
 

 
10 minutes 

 
b. obedience 

 
 

 
5 minutes 

 
c. loyalty 

 
 

 
5 minutes 

 
d. accounting 

 
 

 
15 minutes 

 
e. disclosure 
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4) Submit a copy of the proposed continuing education activity completion certificate (See 

Example DE-3), which can be no larger than 8 2 inches by 11 inches and provides for the following 

information: 
 

a) The name, identification number and license type of the licensee. 
 

b) The title of the continuing education activity including its Nebraska Real Estate 
Commission assigned 4-digit activity approval/content number. 

 
c) The date(s) on which the activity was completed. 

 
d) The name of the Provider. 

 
e) A statement that the licensee fully completed the activity and the number of hours for 
which the continuing education activity has been approved.   

 
f) The fact that the program is approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission must be 
clearly stated. 

 
g) All information on activity completion certificates must be printed in ink and filled out 

completely prior to distributing to students. 
 

EVALUATION OF ACTIVITIES AND INSTRUCTORS 
 
All Providers must have a system of evaluation by students in which the activity and instructor is evaluated at 
the end of each offering.  The completed evaluation forms, as mandated by the ARELLO Certification, on each 
activity/instructor must be kept on file four years from the date the student completes the offering and may be 
requested at any time by the Commission. 
 

REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
Six (6) continuing education hours out of the twelve required every two years must be in designated subject 
matter.  (This was increased from 3 hours effective for the 2011-2012 continuing education period.)  The 
Commission will determine which subject matter will meet this requirement and will recognize appropriate 
activities by adding an "R" to the four-digit activity content number which is assigned to each activity approved. 
 Current designated subject matter are: 
 

The NE Real Estate License Act(a study in part, or whole) 
The NE Real Estate Trust Acct. Manual (a study in part, or whole) 
The NE Landlord/Tenant Act 
Fair Housing/ADA 
Ethical Decision-Making/Studies of Codes of Ethics 
Agency Relationships (must not conflict with NE statute and regs) 
Preparing a Broker Price Opinion (BPO) or Certified Market Analysis (CMA) 
Environmental Concerns 
Contracts 
Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA) 

 
 

4-DIGIT ACTIVITY CONTENT NUMBER 
 
Licensees are prohibited from receiving credit for duplicating activities or course content within four years.  
Required activities (R-courses) are an exception to this. These may be duplicated in each subsequent 12-hour 
requirement.  In order to assist licensees in identifying potential duplication concerns a 4-digit course content 
number is assigned to each activity upon approval.  This number must appear in references to the approved 
activity i.e. marketing, scheduling, completion certificates, etc. 
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Example DE-3 

 EXAMPLE OF 
 ACTIVITY COMPLETION 
 CERTIFICATE 
 
 
Attendees Name      John Jaston     ______________________ID#  _____________________  
     
 
License Type:  (salesperson or broker)           ________________________________________ 
 
 
Continuing Education Activity Completed        ________________________________________  
 
____________________Easements (4-digit activity content number) _______________________    
 
Number Hours Activity Approved for       3 hours       
 
Date(s) completed     May 6, 2002                        
 
Name of Provider     Activity Provider, Inc.           
 
Name of Instructor/Subject Matter Expert       Lee S. Hold               
I certify that the above named licensee did complete this continuing education activity for (# 
hours)granted by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

____________________________________________________                               
Signature of Administrator or Instructor 
 
 
 THIS IS JUST AN EXAMPLE, YOU MAY USE ANOTHER FORMAT 
 AS LONG AS ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION IS INCLUDED. 
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TERM OF APPROVAL 
 

Except for Correspondence Courses, ARELLO Certification must be maintained for activities to remain 
approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission.  Initial Nebraska Approval to conduct this training is 
valid for a three year period and at the end of that time a provider may apply for renewal of approval for 
another three years.  (See DE-8 Renewal Form.) This renewal packet will be mailed to each provider in 
January regarding the activity(ies) due for renewal some time that year. This packet will request pertinent 
information regarding the activity(ies) due for renewal. This application will then be reviewed and action 
will be taken by the Commission. 
 

SIGNIFICANT CHANGES TO APPROVED ACTIVITY 

Should significant changes take place in the subject matter of the continuing education activity during the 
three year period of approval, then the activity must be submitted to the Commission office for review and 
approval. (See form DE-4). 
 
 

POST APPROVAL REQUIREMENTS 
 

After initial approval of a continuing education activity the provider needs to supply to the Real Estate 
Commission or maintain records of the following: 
 

1) Scheduling information regarding the approved activity which shall include: Provider name, Title of 
the activity including activity content number, the instructor, the date and specific location of the 
activity and the beginning and ending time including AM or PM must be submitted to the Commission 
office in advance of the offering date.  (See Example CE-6) 

 
2) Records shall be established and maintained by each provider on each individual student for four 
years.  (See Example CE-8) Specifically included in the records must be the: 

 
a) Name and identification number of the licensee. 
b) Address of the licensee at the time the activity(ies) was completed. 
c) The title of the activity(ies) completed with its activity content number. 
d) The date(s) the activity was offered. 
e) The number of hours the licensee attended each separate activity. 

 
Each Provider is required to electronically submit a verification list of those who received a certificate. 

 This list should be submitted as soon as possible after the activity is held but, by law, must 

be submitted within ten days after the activity.   
 
3) Each Provider will receive from the Commission, upon initial approval, the instructions for reporting 
those students who have successfully completed the course. 
 

Data collected on the Admin Portal will include: 
1) Course Number/Name 
2) Delivery method 
3) Course Completion Date 
4) Course Attendees by license number, first and last name 
 

 

Licensees rely upon these uploads to receive credit for their attendance at training activities. 

Accuracy on the Portal is critical!  Chronic failure to submit timely and accurate reports will 

result in a Show Cause Hearing before the Commission as to why approval as a Provider 

should not be rescinded. 
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I.D. numbers:   
I.D. numbers: Every time a license is issued i.e. upon initial issuance and annually upon 
license renewal, a Receipt Card will be provided to a Nebraska licensee. The licensee’s I.D. 
number appears on this card. Although the license number will remain the same as long as 
the license is renewed, it is recommended that licensees and on-site Proctors be advised to 
refer to this card and verify the number when registering students.  
 
Rosters, which include I.D. numbers, may be purchased from the Commission upon the 
execution of a Privacy Agreement with the Commission.  Please contact the Commission for 
further information. 

 
. 

ANNUALLY 

 
By January 31st, of each year all approved providers shall review for correctness and submit a chronological 
list of all training offered in the previous year which will include: 

1) The title of the activity 
2) Number of hours granted 
3) Date of the activity 
4) Location of the activity 
5) Instructor name 

6) Total number of attendees (not a roster) 
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Form DE-4 

 

 SUBMISSION FOR 

 CHANGE IN AN APPROVED 

 CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITY 

 

 NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 P.O. Box 94667 

 Lincoln, NE 68509-4667 

 402-471-2004 

 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK. 

 

Date                                    

 

Title of Activity                 (Activity Content Number)        

 

Name of Provider                                                   

 

Date Change will be Effective                                      

 

Description of change in subject matter and difficulty level if level has 

changed because of the change described: 

 

 

 

 

 

 ATTACH COPY OF ACTIVITY OUTLINE 

 THAT REFLECTS THE ABOVE DESCRIBED CHANGE 

 

 

 

 

  
                                    Signature of Administrator 

 

 

 

  
 Office Use Only 

 Do Not Write In This Space 

 

Received                                1st Offer Date             

 

To Commission               Expiration                             

 

Comments                                                           
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 Example DE-5 

 

 EXAMPLE OF 

 RECORD TO BE KEPT ON 

 INDIVIDUALS BY 

 A PROVIDER 

 

 

Licensee's Name - Jaston, John S.     ID#   903211 

 

Address:  201 S. Canton, Lincoln, NE 68510 

 

 

 

Activity Completed & Hours                               Date 

 

1.  Easements (#0000) - 3 hrs                           5/6/02 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

 

 

 

 THIS IS JUST AN EXAMPLE, YOU MAY USE ANOTHER FORMAT 

 AS LONG AS ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION IS INCLUDED. 
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Form DE-8 

 RENEWAL OF APPROVAL 

 CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITY 

 

 NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 P.O. Box 94667 

 Lincoln, NE 68509-4667 

 402-471-2004 

 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK 

 

Date                             

 

Name of Provider                                                   

 

Address___________________________________________________________ 

 

Contact Person___________________________Telephone(    )_____________ 

 

 

Names of Approved Continuing Education Activity(ies) submitted for Renewal.  

Attach copies of outlines with time allotments and ARELLO Summary Sheet for all 

entities involved in the delivery stream and for all activities for which renewal 

is sought. 

 

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

 

Name(s) of those approved continuing education activities for which renewal of 

approval will not be sought. 

 

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

 

 

Names of Approved Subject Matter Experts and activity(ies) for which they will be 

available. 

 

1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

-over-
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Have any adverse actions or disciplinary actions been taken by any regulatory or licensing 

authority against your institution in any matter? 

 

        No 

        Yes, 

if yes explain fully 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Has your approval to offer continuing education activities or pre-license courses been 

revoked or suspended by any real estate regulatory body? 

 

__      No 

        Yes, 

if yes explain fully  

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hereby certify that all information contained above and on all attachments is true and 

correct. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Signature of Administrator____________________________________________________ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  
 Office Use Only 

 Do Not Write In This Space 

 

Received                                   Approval Date                      

 

To Commission                              Expiration                         

 

Comments                                                                  
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GUIDELINES FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES 

 

Continuing education providers must follow the procedures for approval of providers, 

activities, and instructors outlined in the Nebraska Real Estate License Act and Title 299 

NAC Chapter 7. The following subject matter is generally considered acceptable for continuing 

education activities, but providers are encouraged to create new activities to meet the 

changing demands of the real estate market. Addressing listed subject matter in an activity 

does not guarantee approval by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. 

 

Approvable subject matter includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

 

1. Agency 

2. Auctions of real estate 

3. Broker price opinions and comparative market analyses 

4. Commercial real estate sales and leasing 

5. Compliance with federal and state real estate laws 

6. Computers - utilization to serve the consumer 

7. Condominiums and cooperatives 

8. Contracts used in real estate transactions 

9. Counseling the real estate client 

10. Diversity, i.e. respecting cultural differences 

11. Environmental concerns, i.e. radon, lead-based paint, etc. 

12. Ethical practices in real estate 

13. Fair Housing/ADA 

14. Farm and ranch real estate sales and leasing 

15. Housing and Urban Development programs 

16. Land use planning and zoning, i.e. site assessments, feasibility studies, etc. 

17. Landlord/Tenant Act 

18. Legal issues in real estate e-commerce 

19. Legislative changes that affect real estate (not pending legislation) 

20. Property inspections, i.e. wood-destroying insects, furnace/AC, whole house, etc. 

21. Property management 

22. Real estate accounting and taxation, including exchanges of real property 

23. Real estate development, construction, and energy conservation methods 

24. Real estate finance 

25. Real estate investment 

26. Real estate mathematics 

27. Real estate relocation 

28. Real estate securities and syndications 

29. Risk reduction 

30. Technology used to meet the clients’ needs 

31. Title issues 

32. Trust accounts 

33. Water and waste management 

 

 Revised August, 2011 
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Statutory References to 

Continuing Education 
 
81-885.49. Continuing education and training; purpose. 

The purpose of sections 81-885.49 to 81-885.54 is to establish requirements for continuing education and training of 
real estate brokers and salespersons who are licensed in order to maintain and improve the quality of real estate services 
provided to the public. 
 

81-885.50. Continuing education and training; terms, defined. 

As used in sections 81-885.49 to 81-885.54, unless the context otherwise requires: 

(1) Commission shall mean the State Real Estate Commission; 

(2) Licensee shall mean a natural person who is licensed by the commission as a real estate broker or salesperson; 
and 

(3) Two-year period shall mean twenty-four months commencing on January 1 following either the date of licensing of 
the real estate broker or salesperson or March 8, 1985, whichever is later, and each succeeding twenty-four-month period. 
 

81-885.51. Continuing education and training; evidence of completion. 

In each two-year period, every licensee shall complete twelve hours of approved continuing education activities and six 
hours of broker-approved training. Evidence of completion of such continuing education and training activities for the two-
year period shall be submitted to the commission pursuant to rules and regulations adopted and promulgated by the 
commission. 
 

81-885.52. Continuing education and training; certify activities. 

(1) The commission shall certify as approved continuing education activities those courses, lectures, seminars, or 
other instructional programs which it determines would protect the public by improving the competency of licensees. The 
commission may require descriptive information about any continuing education or training activity and refuse approval of 
any continuing education or training activity which does not advance the purposes of sections 81-885.49 to 81-885.54. The 
commission shall not approve any provider of continuing education or training courses, lectures, seminars, or other 
instructional programs unless such provider meets the standards established by the commission. 

(2) The commission shall certify the number of hours to be awarded for participation in an approved continuing 
education activity, based upon contact or classroom hours or other criteria prescribed by rule and regulation of the 
commission. 

(3) The commission may certify the number of hours to be awarded for successful completion of a course delivered in 
a distance education format, based upon the number of hours which would be awarded in an equivalent classroom course 
or program or other criteria prescribed by rule and regulation of the commission. 

81-885.53. Continuing education and training; licensee; requirements. 

Except for inactive licensees, the commission shall not renew a license or issue a new license to any licensee who has 
failed to comply with the requirements of sections 81-885.49 to 81-885.54. Inactive licensees may renew their licenses at 
the end of the two-year period without having completed the hours of continuing education and training activities required 
by section 81-885.51 for each two-year period. Inactive licensees shall not be activated until the licensee has satisfactorily 
completed the total number of deficient hours of continuing education activities and filed evidence of such completion with 
the commission, except that no inactive licensee shall be required to make up more than the number of hours of 
continuing education required by section 81-885.51 for a two-year period. 

 

81-885.54. Continuing education and training; rules and regulations. 

The commission shall adopt and promulgate rules and regulations necessary for the effective administration of 
sections 81-885.49 to 81-885.54 pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. Such rules and regulations may include, 
but not be limited to, the establishment of minimum standards for schools, courses, and instructors. 

 

http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.51
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.51
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.49
http://uniweb.legislature.ne.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=81-885.54
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NOTE:  These Rules became effective October 14, 2011. 
 

Title 299 - NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

Chapter 7 - CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES; REQUIRED HOURS; APPROVAL; RESTRICTIONS; DENIAL; 

REVOCATION; APPEAL PROCESS; RECORD KEEPING. 
 

001 Of the twelve hours of continuing education required in Section 81-885.51 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act, six 
hours in each two-year period shall be taken in continuing education activities which are derived from material covering ethical 
decision-making or federal or state laws, rules, or regulations dealing with or pertaining to real estate or real estate 
transactions, and which are approved and designated by the Commission as meeting this six-hour requirement. 
 

001.01 Continuing education activities approved under this Section are not subject to the duplication provision as set 
forth in Section 003.07 of this Chapter, except that continuing education activities approved under this Section and 
which are of the same content, or if in the opinion of the Commission so similar as to be indistinguishable in content, 
cannot be duplicated within the same two-year continuing education period. 
 

002 The six hours of training required in Section 81-885.51 of the Nebraska Real Estate License Act may be fulfilled by 

satisfactorily completing training activities approved by the licensee’s designated broker and recognized by the Commission OR 

by satisfactorily completing Commission approved continuing education activities OR by some combination of both.  Training 
activity shall be required to be met and submitted as provided in the License Act and these regulations beginning in calendar 
year 2012. 
 

003 Qualifications for approval of continuing education activities shall be as stated herein. 
 

003.01 A continuing education activity offered in the State of Nebraska shall be qualified for approval if the Real Estate 
Commission determines that:  

 

003.01A The continuing education activity contributes to the maintenance and improvement of the quality of 
real estate services provided by real estate licensees to the public; and 

 

003.01B An in-class continuing education activity must consist of at least three in-class clock hours but no 
more than eight in-class clock hours in any one day of instruction. In the case of a continuing education activity 
delivered in a distance education format there must be at least the content equivalent of three in-class clock 
hours, and certification pursuant to 299 NAC 7-002.02. An in-class clock hour is defined as 50 minutes in 
length; and  

 

003.01C The provider has submitted a complete application as prescribed by the Real Estate Commission at 
least thirty days prior to the beginning of the continuing education activity; and 

 

 

003.01D All instructors have met the qualification standards as established by the Real Estate Commission; 
and 
 

003.01E The provider has met the provisions of all other applicable state laws. 
 

003.02 Continuing education activities offered in a distance education format must be certified by the Association of 
Real Estate License Law Officials. A student must complete the distance education activity within one year of the date 
of enrollment. Distance education as it is used in this chapter shall mean courses in which instruction does not take 
place in a traditional classroom setting but rather through other media where instructor and student are separated by 
distance and sometimes by time. 
 

003.03 Courses taken by salesperson licensees toward meeting the broker pre-license requirements, with the excep-
tion of Real Estate Principles and Practices or its equivalent courses, may be used toward meeting the continuing 
education requirement and also as meeting the pre-license broker requirement. 
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003.04 In addition to continuing education activities directly approved by the Real Estate Commission, the Commission 
shall accept: 

 

003.04A Continuing education activities approved to meet the continuing education requirements for renewal 
of a salesperson or broker license in another real estate jurisdiction and taken outside the State of Nebraska. 

 

003.04B Instruction by instructors of approved continuing education activities toward meeting the continuing 
education requirement. The same restrictions of usage as set forth in Title 299, Chapter 7, Section 003 will 
apply. 
 

003.04C Reviews of continuing education activities that are provided in a distance education format and have 
been submitted for approval as provided in this Chapter when the appointed reviewer, who must meet the 
same qualification standards established for continuing education instructors, successfully completes the 
activity and provides a report prescribed by the Commission.  
 

003.04D The Commission shall have no obligation to accept a continuing education activity otherwise 
considered acceptable under this subsection if the activity has been identified by the Commission as 
unacceptable according to Nebraska continuing education criteria. 
 

003.04E Written affirmation from non-resident licensees that they have met the current continuing education 
requirement in their state of residence. 

 

003.05 Licensees may use appraisal continuing education approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Appraiser Board 
toward their salesperson or broker continuing education requirement, when taken during the applicable two-year period 
for their salesperson or broker license. 

 

004 The following activities shall not be approved as continuing education and cannot be used toward meeting the continuing 
education requirement: 
 

004.01 Those which are specifically examination preparation in nature. 
 

004.02 Those which deal with office or business skills, such as typing, speed reading, memory improvement, body 
language, motivation and similar activities. 

 

004.03 Those which are completed by a challenge examination (testing-out of the activity). 
 

004.04 Sales promotion or sales meetings held in conjunction with a brokerage firm's general business. 
 

004.05 Orientation courses for licensees held by trade organizations. 
 

004.06 Continuing education activities taken prior to approval date of the continuing education activity. 
 

004.07 Continuing education activities of the same content, or if in the opinion of the Commission an activity is so 
similar as to be indistinguishable in content, cannot be used for a minimum of four years after the activity was taken to 
be applied toward meeting the continuing education requirement, except that activities meeting the required hours set 
forth in Section 001 of this Chapter may be repeated but not in the same two-year continuing education period. 

004.08 Broker licensees cannot retake courses taken as part of their pre-license requirement and use them toward 
meeting their continuing education requirement except as provided in Title 299, Chapter 7, Section 003.07. 

 

004.09 Continuing education activities taken to make up a deficiency of the continuing education requirement from a 
previous continuing education period may not be used toward the current period's continuing education requirement. 

 

005 Qualifications for recognition of training activities shall be as stated herein. 

 

005.01 A training activity offered in the State of Nebraska shall be recognized by the Real Estate Commission pursuant 
to Section 81-885.51 if the Real Estate Commission determines that:  
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005.01A The training activity directly relates to real estate services provided by real estate licensees to the 
public; and 
 

005.01B The training does not materially misstate elements of the Real Estate License Act or other provisions 
of the law; and  

 

005.01C A training activity must consist of at least one sixty minute hour. In the case of a training activity 
delivered in a distance education format there must be at least the content equivalent of one sixty-minute hour; 
and  

005.01D The provider has submitted a complete application as prescribed by the Real Estate Commission at 
least thirty days prior to the beginning of the training activity. 
 

005.02 The Commission shall have the authority to require additional information regarding training content in order to 
determine eligibility.  

 

005.03 The Commission may determine that an activity submitted to meet the training requirement would more 
appropriately be recognized as continuing education because the level of complexity or legal nature of the training 
requires a more detailed review of the subject matter as provided in these regulations for continuing education.  

 

006 The following activities cannot be used toward meeting the training requirement: 
 

006.01 Those which are specifically examination preparation in nature. 
 

006.02 Those which are completed by a challenge examination (testing-out of the activity). 
 

006.03 Orientation courses for licensees held by trade organizations. 
 

006.04 Training activities taken prior to the Commission’s recognition date of the training activity. 
 

007 The Commission shall notify applicants in a timely manner, in writing, whether an application is approved or denied. If an 
application is denied, the denial notice shall state the reason(s) for denial. This section applies to initial submittals of 
applications for approval of training activities, and providers, activities, and instructors of Nebraska real estate continuing 
education; resubmittals of continuing education activities for reapproval every three years; and resubmittals of activities due to 
substantial changes in the activities. 
 

008 Approved continuing education activities shall be resubmitted by the provider for approval and reviewed every three years 
by the Commission unless substantial changes are made in the activity prior to that time.  
 

009 If substantial changes are made, the activity shall be submitted by the provider for review and approval, and may not be 
offered prior to receiving notice that the altered activity has been approved. 
 

010 Decisions of the Real Estate Commission to deny approval of training activities or continuing education providers, activities, 
or instructors may be reviewed by the Commission when such review is requested within twenty days of notification of said 
decision. The Real Estate Commission may at any time re-evaluate an approved training activity or continuing education 
provider, activity, or instructor. If a basis for consideration of revocation of approval is found, the Commission shall notify said 
provider by mail at least twenty business days prior to said hearing on the revocation. 
 
 

011 Decisions of the Real Estate Commission to deny approval of training activities or continuing education providers, 
activities, or instructors may be reviewed by the Commission when such review is requested within twenty days of 
notification of said decision. The Real Estate Commission may at any time re-evaluate an approved training activity or 
continuing education provider, activity, or instructor. If a basis for consideration of revocation of approval is found, the 
Commission shall notify said provider by mail at least twenty business days prior to said hearing on the revocation. 

 

012 Providers of approved training or continuing education activities shall be governed by the provisions of this Section in 
addition to any other applicable statutes or rules and regulations.  
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012.01 The provider shall submit to the Commission a notice of the scheduling of an approved activity prior to 
offering the activity. The notice shall be submitted in a form prescribed by the Commission. This subsection shall 
not apply to distance education activities offered in an independent study format.  
 

012.02 Successful completion of an approved training or continuing education activity requires full-time attendance 
at the activity. 
  

012.03 A completion certificate, not larger than 8 1/2 by 11, must be issued to each student upon completion of 
the activity and shall include such information required by the Commission.  
 

012.04 In the case of students using a pre-license broker course toward both pre-license and continuing education 
as set forth in Title 299, Chapter 7, Section 002.03, upon request by the student a separate continuing education 
completion certificate will be issued by the provider upon completion of the course in addition to the pre-license 
proof of completion. 
 
  

012.05 Records shall be maintained by each provider on each individual student for four years. Said records to 
include: name and real estate license identification number of the student; residence or business address of the 
student; the title of the activity completed in full,; the number of training or continuing education hours granted the 
activity; the date the student completed the activity; and, activity content numbers for continuing education 
activities.  
 

012.06 A verification listing of the attendees at an approved training or continuing education activity who have met 
the requirements of completion as established by the Commission pursuant to Section 81-885.52 of the Nebraska 
Real Estate License Act shall be submitted to the Commission, in the current format specified by the Commission, 
within ten business days of the conclusion of the activity.  
 

012.07 By January 31st of each year all approved providers shall submit to the Commission a chronological list to 
include the title, number of hours granted, date, location, instructor and number of attendees for each training or 
continuing education activity conducted during the preceding year.  
 
 

013 Nothing in this Chapter shall be construed to preclude training or educational offerings sponsored, or conducted, by 
the Real Estate Commission from being accepted toward meeting the continuing education requirement of the Nebraska 
Real Estate License Act.  
 

Laws 1985, LB 101, §10; RS 1943, §81-885.54, R.S. Supp., 1985. Effective date March 7, 1985. 
 


