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Teresa Hoffman Retires

Deputy Director
for Licensing and
Education  Teresa
Hoffman has taken a
new position with the
Alabama Real Estate
Commission; her last
day was September 5.
Hoffman worked for
the Commission for 26 years, starting as
the Education Director under former
Director Paul Quinlan, and moving up
to Deputy Director for Licensing and
Education under Quinlan’s successor,
Les Tyrrell.

Among Hoffman’s many accomplish-
ments were implementing automated
license examinations, the development
and implementation of the current
licensee database, and the creation of bro-
ker approved training, as well as serving
as President of the international Associa-
tion of Real Estate License Law Officials
(ARELLO) and numerous other leader-
ship positions with that organization.

The Education position has not been
filled at this point, but we will make an
announcement on the website and in this
publication when a candidate has been

chosen. g1z

Licensees No Longer
Required to Send in
Education Certificates

Effective immediately, the Nebraska Real Estate Commission will no longer
require licensees to send in certificates for proof of completion of continuing educa-
tion (CE). Proof of completion of continuing education requirements will be submit-
ted by the education providers as required by law. Please Note: Providers have, by
law, 10 days to submit education verification to the Commission. Licensees should
use the licensee portal to verify that their class completion has been submitted.

If it does not appear that the course completion has been submitted and recorded
after the ten day period has expired, you should contact your course provider. We
would also like to note once again, in order to simplify and expedite the renewal
process, we suggest that licensees not wait until the last minute to meet their contin-
uing education requirements, as we cannot complete the renewal process until all
required CE has been properly certified.

Providers will continue to provide completion certificates to students who suc-
cessfully complete the course. Students are advised to maintain these certificates for
their records. Please note, licensees will still be required to submit certificates for
courses taken through providers approved in other jurisdictions and not Nebraska, as
well as appraiser CE. giz

Ann Dover Appointed to the
GCommission

Governor Dave Heineman has announced the
appointment of Ann Dover as the Salesperson at Large
Representative on the Nebraska Real Estate Commis-
sion. She replaces Kathryn Rouch of Omaha, who
recently completed her six year term.

Dover has over 25 years experience as a licensed
salesperson, and, in addition, has completed a seven year term on the Nebraska
Equal opportunity Commission. She has also served on the Board of Directors
and in numerous other capacities with the Nebraska Realtors Association. Dover
is currently employed as a salesperson with Coldwell Banker Dover Realtors in
Norfolk, where she lives with her husband, Robert, and their four children.

On behalf of myself and all the Commission staff I would like to welcome
Ann Dover to her new post and thank her for her willingness to serve on the
Commission.

—Greg Lemon, Director,
Nebraska Real Estate Commission
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DIRECTOR’S DESK

License and Renewal Fees

At the August meeting of the Nebraska
Real Estate Commission the Commission
voted to approve an increase of $15 a year
($30 for the two year renewal cycle) for

=

renewal fees and a corresponding increase
of $15 for the licensing fee. The increase
will change the two year broker renewal fee
from $260 to $290, and the two year sales
renewal fee from $200 to $230, these
increases will be effective immediately for
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the upcoming renewal cycle for the 2015-
2016 license year.

The salesperson’s license fee will
increase from $100 to $115, and the bro-
ker’s license fee will increase from $130 to $145, both effective January 1, 2015.

While the number of applicants has been up the last couple of years, creating a
healthy fund balance for Commission operations, the Commission is currently faced
with the need to purchase a new licensee database. The current system, developed in
the mid-nineties and operational since 1998, is becoming very difficult to adequately
support for a variety of reasons, including the original vendor being out of business,
and the programming language used being out of date. The fee increase is needed to
fund that purchase, which is still subject to the approval by the Legislature and Gov-

Director Greg Lemon

ernor. If the request is not granted the Commission will reassess its projected fund
balances and adjust fees accordingly in future years.

Greg Lemon, Director

Nebraska Real Estate Commission

Photo courtesy of Nebraska Tourism Commission
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Memorial Stadium is transformed into a sea of red on game day in Lincoln.
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Disciplinary Actions Taken by the
Real Estate Gommission

(Does Not Include Cases on Appeal)

2014-015 - Commission vs. Thomas Eugene Sunderman; Broker; Fremont, NE.
Stipulation and Consent Order entered August 21, 2014. License suspended for two
(2) years all stayed and served on probation; plus pay a civil fine of $1,500.00 by Sep-
tember 20, 2014; plus complete six (6) hours of additional continuing education, three
(3) hours each in the areas of agency and contracts by February 17, 2015. [Sunder-
man violated Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-2421(3) Licensee offering brokerage services; (3)
Before engaging in any of the activities enumerated in subdivision (2) of section 81-
885.01, a licensee working as an agent or subagent of the seller or landlord with a
buyer or tenant who is not represented by a licensee shall provide a written disclosure
to the customer which contains the following: (a) A statement that the licensee is an
agent for the seller or landlord and is not an agent for the customer; and (b) A list of
the tasks that the agent acting as a seller’s or landlord’s agent or subagent may per-
form with the customer; by not obtaining a signed Agency Disclosure “following the
first substantial contact with” nine of the twelve owners of seller’s farmland July 30,
2013; violated Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-2422 Written agreements for brokerage services;
when required (1) All written agreements for brokerage services on behalf of a seller,
landlord, buyer, or tenant shall be entered into by the designated broker on behalf of
that broker and affiliated licensees, except that the designated broker may authorize
affiliated licensees in writing to enter into the written agreements on behalf of the
designated broker. A copy of a written agreement for brokerage services shall be left
with the client or clients. (2) Before engaging in any of the activities enumerated in
subdivision (2) of section 8§1-885.01, a designated broker intending to establish a sin-
gle agency relationship with a seller or landlord shall enter into a written agency
agreement with the party to be represented. The agreement shall include a licensee’s
duties and responsibilities specified in section 76-2417, the terms of compensation, a
fixed date of expiration of the agreement, and whether an offer of subagency may be
made to any other designated broker, except that if a licensee is a limited seller’s
agent for a builder, the terms of compensation may be established for a specific new
construction property on or before the builder’s acceptance of a contract to sell; vio-
lated Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-885.24(12) Offering real estate for sale or lease without the
knowledge and consent of the owner or his or her authorized agent or on terms other
than those authorized by the owner or his or her authorized agent; by marketing real
property for sale between March 20, 2013 and July 30, 2013, and writing Buyer’s
Offer to Purchase property on July 30, 2013, without having a signed Listing Agree-
ment with all owners of the property; violated Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-885.24(16) Vio-
lating any provision of sections 76-2401 to 76-2430; violated Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-
885.24(29) Demonstrating negligence, incompetency, or unworthiness to act as a
broker, associate broker, or salesperson by violating Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-2121(3),
76-2422, 81-885.24(12) and 81-885.24(16).] gizq

MEET THE REAL ESTATE

COMMISSION STAFF

The Real Estate Commission Staff is
here to serve the public and the licensee
population. It is our goal to be helpful
and forthright in a courteous and profes-
sional manner. We hope that when you
contact our office, you always receive
useful, accurate information and/or are
referred to the proper authority.

Following is a communication
resource to assist you when contacting our
office. If the indicated person is unavail-
able to take your call, please share the pur-
pose for the call and your call will be
routed to someone else who can help you.

We take pride in having a skilled staff,
if you have comments or suggestions as
to how we may better serve you, please
contact our office.

COMMUNICATIONS GUIDE

Ask for person indicated if you have questions in
the following areas.

Commission Meeting Information . ...Monica Rut
monica.rut@nebraska.gov

Complaint Procedures .............. Duran Cell
duran.cell @nebraska.gov

Continuing Education History or
Inquiries...................... Tawny Snider
tawny.snider@nebraska.gov

Curriculum Design (Education &
Instructor Approval).................. Vacant

Errors and Omissions Insurance
Inquiries . . ......... ... ... Monica Rut
monica.rut@nebraska.gov

Financial Officer............... Hillary Pospisil
hillary.pospisil @nebraska.gov

License Applications Packet
Requests ...................... General Staff
realestate.commission @nebraska.gov

License Applications Process . ... Marilyn Masters
marilyn.masters @nebraska.gov

Licensing Requirements .. .......... Monica Rut
monica.rut@nebraska.gov
New Licenses in Process. . ... ... Marilyn Masters
marilyn.masters @nebraska.gov
Specialized Registrations ........... Monica Rut
monica.rut@nebraska.gov
Transfer of License . ......... Patricia Menousek
patricia.menousek @nebraska.gov
Trust Account Matters.............. John Clark
john.clark @nebraska.gov

Ron Pierson
Webmaster. . ..................... Monica Rut

monica.rut@nebraska.gov

WEBSITE: www.nrec.ne.gov
TELEPHONE NUMBER
(402) 471-2004
FAX NUMBER
(402) 471-4492
ADDRESS:

Nebraska Real Estate Commission
P.O. Box 94667
Lincoln, NE 68509-4667
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Renewal Instructions 2015-16
License Year

The Commission’s online renewal service continues this
year with little change from prior year’s. The online form is
pre-populated with your information as it currently exists in
our database and you have the opportunity to check the infor-
mation for accuracy and accept it as is or edit as needed, as
well as verifying or updating other critical information in our
database. For example, there will be no reason to assume your
continuing education requirements have been met (or not), you
can verify it prior to or while filling out the form.

No Renewal Packets!

We will be sending out renewal reminder postcards to those
whose license is expiring this year. If you renewed for two
years last year you will not need to renew this year and will
not receive a postcard UNLESS you are a broker with branch
offices, branch offices must be renewed annually. The post-
card will be your only renewal notice. We will provide paper
renewal packets when absolutely necessary, but we strongly
encourage all licensees with internet access to renew online.

Licensee Portal

The online renewal along with access to the records the
Commission has relative to your particular license can be
found at your licensee portal. To get to the portal you login
from our homepage. In order to login you will need to know
your real estate license number and your password. If you do
not know your password you can reset it from our website by
clicking on the licensee login button in the upper right hand
corner of the NREC homepage: http://www.nrec.ne.gov, then
click on the “change password” link to have a temporary pass-
word emailed to you. The email address we have on file for
you must be current and you must know your license number
to reset your password. Also, be sure to use the link in the
email to get to the page necessary to change your tempo-
rary password, the temporary password assigned will not
allow access to our renewal and other online services, the
temporary password must (and can only) be used for set-
ting your permanent password. If you still need help please
call us at (402 471-2004) for assistance. Once logged in you
will be taken to your licensee portal where the renewal link
will be clearly indicated on the main page.

The licensee portal will also provide your Continuing Edu-
cation and Errors and Omissions insurance information, as
well as affiliated licensees and branch office information for
designated brokers. All licensees are able to login to their
licensee portal at any time but only those whose renewal is due
this year will have access to the renewal pages.

The Renewal Process

The renewal application takes you through the step-by-step
process for renewal and includes numerous stopping points so
you can save your work and continue later. The renewal appli-
cation will also let you attach documents such as a lawsuit or
insurance information. All attachments must be in PDF for-
mat. PDF converters are readily available online and also built
into many of the latest versions of popular off the shelf soft-
ware such as Microsoft Word. While the process and questions
are fairly self-explanatory, there are a few hints we would like
to add to make your online renewal easier:

Before starting your
renewal, please read the
online instructions.

From the Licensee Portal, review the continuing education
and errors and omissions insurance information we have on
file for you. If you need to renew your license this year, your
continuing education needs to be complete and you need to
have E&O insurance into 2015 unless you are renewing on
inactive status. You will need to commit to providing the nec-
essary information by some method, while you may continue
through the renewal form these items must be in the office
before your license will be renewed. Remember, you may sub-
mit additional material while you are in the renewal process by
attaching PDF files.

Designated brokers will need to compare their current list
of affiliated licensees to our list in the portal (or on the paper
renewal) so that they can add or delete names as part of com-
pleting the renewal. Designated brokers will also want to
review their branch offices every year and consider those they
wish to renew or let expire by the end of the year. Online
branch renewals are also available. Please remember that both

the designated broker and the managing broker must be
renewed on active status before the branch can be renewed.

Employing brokers can check the renewal status of any of their
affiliated licensees by checking the expiration date supplied on
the list found on their portal.

If there is an affirmative answer regarding errors and omis-
sions insurance claims, lawsuits, etc. have the details, as

requested, ready to submit via narrative or attachment.
(Continued on page 5)
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(Continued from page 4)
Renewal Instructions (Cont’d)

Final Review and Payment

When you complete entering the renewal information you
will be taken to a review page that will allow you to look over
what you have entered. Once you have completed your review
and made any corrections, you will be taken to the payment
portal where you can pay for your renewal via ACH payment
or credit card (Visa, MasterCard or Discover). Print the con-
firmation page for your records. You will receive an email
indicating that your renewal has been submitted. The email
does not confirm renewal, that will be confirmed later.

Because there are many items on the renewal form that will
still require review by Commission staff, such as lawsuit infor-
mation or criminal charges, the renewal status indicated on
your licensee portal will indicate “pending Commission’s
approval” Your renewal will not be complete until Com-
mission staff have reviewed the form and given final
approval, this process may take several days. Your credit
card will not be charged pending final review, but you will
probably see a notice of pending charge or charge authoriza-
tion on your online statement after the renewal has been
submitted.

Verification That License Has Been
Renewed

Please allow time for the Commission’s review of your
renewal. After the renewal has been reviewed you will receive
an email that will confirm the renewal has been approved OR
that the renewal has been rejected and why it has been
rejected. Finally, after you have succeeded in renewing and
have received the email indicating approval of renewal you
will receive another email that contains your receipt card.
PRINT YOUR RECEIPT CARD AND PUT IT IN YOUR
WALLET—no more waiting until a mass mailing in Decem-
ber!

Help for Designated Brokers

The Commission will send an email to designated brokers
in December indicating which of their affiliated licensees have
not renewed, similar to the letter we have sent in the past.
However, all designated brokers, whether due to renew
themselves or not, should note that they can go to their
licensee portal and review the list of their affiliated
licensees to see who has renewed and who has not through-
out the renewal season.

Email Address Critical

It is very important that we have the correct email address
in order to send you your renewal confirmation and other
information, please review your online filing to make sure we
have the right email address for you or, if changing your
address or adding one, to double check to make sure it is
correct.

Some Herpru Tips

¢ Before starting your renewal, please
read the online instructions at
www.nrec.ne.gov.

e Change your temporary password to a
permanent password, write it down and
keep in a safe place.

¢ Print the confirmation page for your
records.

e November 30, 2014, is the statutory
deadline for submitting renewal
application materials.

e RENEW EARLY.
e RENEW ONLINE AT www.nrec.ne.gov.

e | ook for the renewal reminder
postcards in the mail.

e All documents and attachments must
be in .pdf formats.

e Make sure your email address is
correct.

¢ Print your Receipt Card.

And Please Remember

Failure to receive your renewal reminder postcard or a
requested packet because it was lost in the mail or not per-
sonally delivered to you does not relieve you of your oblig-
ation to renew your license on time.

DEADLINES!

November 30, 2014, is the statutory deadline for submit-
ting renewal application materials for all active and inactive
salespersons and brokers, along with the proper fees and, if
needed, proof of continuing education and errors and omis-
sions insurance. However, because that date falls on a Sunday
this year electronically submitted renewals will be accepted
until Midnight, on December 1st. No matter how you are fil-
ing your renewal we strongly recommend that you do not wait
until the last minute to file as any technical difficulty in filing
or filing deficiency will result in a delayed or rejected filing
and a late fee.

For those renewing on paper the Commission office is open
until 5:00 P.M. (CST). If the renewal is complete and all nec-
essary materials have been submitted, postmarks of December
1, 2014, will be honored. Postal meter marks will not sub-
stitute for postmarks!

(Continued on page 6)

Commission Comments | FALL2014 | 5



(Continued from page 5)
Renewal Instructions (Cont’d)

Licenses held on inactive status must be
renewed too.

Inactive licenses are subject to the same deadlines and fees
as described in this article.

Individualized Paper Forms

Because the Commission is now able to take ACH pay-
ments (electronic checks) requests for paper renewal forms
should be minimal. These forms are produced from our data-
base and are individualized to the named licensee. Please take
the time to read the supplied information carefully and make
any corrections necessary. Do not attempt to use someone
else’s form, the barcode will not accommodate this. Please
take care not to lose your requested individualized form.
Email notice of status of paper renewals is not possible,
however, you will receive your receipt card via email when
the paper renewal is complete and has been processed.

Incomplete Applications

NO LICENSES WILL BE RENEWED UNTIL THE
CORRECT FORM IS RECEIVED AND ALL INFOR-
MATION REQUESTED IN THE APPLICATION IS
SUPPLIED. PAPER RENEWALS MUST BE SIGNED
BY THE LICENSEE. There should be no questions left
unanswered. If active, make certain you properly address your
errors & omissions insurance and continuing education
requirements. Make sure your ACH, check or credit card
information is supplied, filled out properly, legible, and in the
correct amount. If you are unsure as to how to complete
your online or paper renewal, we will be happy to answer
any questions you may have. INACCURATE OR INCOM-
PLETE RENEWALS MAY JEOPARDIZE THE
TIMELY RENEWAL OF YOUR LICENSE AND
COULD RESULT IN THE ASSESSMENT OF LATE
FEES.

Late Renewals

Any salesperson or broker who fails to file a complete
application for renewal of a license and pay the renewal fee by
the deadline date, as provided in the Nebraska Real Estate
License Act and NEB. REv. STAT. §49-1203, may file a late
renewal application with all required information included.
Renewals which are late must pay, in addition to the renewal
fee, the sum of twenty-five dollars for each month, or portion
of month, beginning on December 2, 2014; provided that such
late application is filed by 5:00 P.M. (CDT) June 30, 2015.

Renew Early!

The processing of renewal applications, as the volume of
renewals received increases near the deadline, can be as long
as a week to ten days. This being the case, the rejection of an
online renewal, return of the individual application or “bun-
dled” applications in and of itself will cause late fees to

accrue. Therefore, we encourage all licensees to submit
renewals early and not wait until the last minute.

Remember: Do Not Combine Fees

LICENSE RENEWAL FEES CANNOT BE COM-
BINED WITH TRANSFER FEES OR EXAMINATION
FEES. THESE ARE SEPARATE PROCESSES. PLEASE
SEND SUCH REQUESTS AND THE APPROPRIATE
FEE UNDER SEPARATE COVER.

Insufficient Funds

ANY PAYMENT RETURNED BY A FINANCIAL
INSTITUTION OR ANY STOP PAYMENT THROUGH A
CREDIT CARD COMPANY (CHARGEBACK) WILL BE
SUBJECT TO A $30 PROCESSING FEE. IT SHOULD
ALSO BE POINTED OUT THAT THE LICENSE ACT
PROVIDES THAT ATTEMPTED PAYMENT OF A
LICENSE OR RENWAL FEE BY AN INSUFFICIENT
FUNDS CHECK OR INVALID ELECTRONIC PAYMENT
MAY BE GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OR REVOCATION OF
A LICENSE.

RENEW
Online At
WWW.nrec.ne.gov
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Update: Pennsylvania Supreme Gourt Rejects Duty
to Disclose “Psychological Impacts™

(Reprinted with permission from ARELLO Boundaries, the real
estate regulation news publication of the Association of Real Estate
License Law Officials, although a Pennsylvania case based upon
Pennsylvania law, and not controlling in Nebraska, the case and
article provide an interesting discussion of disclosure requirements
of stigmatized property in a state with similar disclosure
requirements to those in Nebraska)

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court has brought an unsuc-
cessful end to a home buyer’s 5%2-year legal struggle against
sellers and real estate agents who did not disclose that the sub-
ject property was the site of a previous murder-suicide. In the
absence of a state statute addressing the situation, the state’s
highest court ruled that disclosure of non-material information
that may “stigmatize” or “psychologically impact™ a property
is not required.

As reported in previous editions of Boundaries, the circum-
stances underlying the protracted litigation in Milliken v.
Jacono began when the original owner allegedly committed
murder-suicide at the subject property. The Jaconos purchased
the property from the owner’s estate, renovated it and listed it
for sale. The Jaconos and their listing agents each sought and
received information from various sources indicating that dis-
closure of the previous events at the property was not required.
The listing agents suggested disclosure “just to get it out
there”, but the Jaconos declined. Milliken purchased the prop-
erty from the Jaconos and received a completed Seller’s Prop-
erty Disclosure Statement pursuant to Pennsylvania’s Real
Estate Seller Disclosure Law (RESDL). The RESDL estab-
lishes a seller’s duty to disclose known “material defects”
(problems that “would have a significant adverse impact on
the value of the property” or involving “unreasonable risk to
people in the property”) on a form generated by the Pennsyl-
vania State Real Estate Commission.

The RESDL and the Commission form require disclosures
regarding numerous specific property conditions, but do not
address factors that might “psychologically impact” a prop-
erty, such as a murder or suicide. After the transaction closed,
Milliken learned about the deaths at the property and sued the
sellers and real estate agents alleging fraud, misrepresentation
and violation of state consumer protection laws. She asserted
that she would not have purchased the property if she had
known about the prior events which, according to two
appraisals, lowered the value of the property between 10 and
15 percent. The trial court granted summary judgment in favor
of the sellers and agents, ruling that the murder-suicide was
not a “material fact” that required disclosure.

Milliken appealed to the Pennsylvania Superior Court,
which overturned the trial court ruling. The court noted that
the disclosure form generated by the agents and provided to
Milliken covered topics “beyond the basic requirements of the

[RESDL]” and called for the disclosure of material defects
“not disclosed elsewhere on this form”. The Superior Court
concluded that, under the circumstances, a jury should have
been allowed to determine whether the murder-suicide was a
“material defect” that required disclosure. However, the court
thereafter granted reargument of the case, withdrew its deci-
sion and instead ruled that a murder occurring on a property
involves its reputation, not its physical structure, and thus the
RESDL did not require disclosure of such “psychological
damage”. Milliken then appealed to the Pennsylvania Supreme
Court, which affirmed the lower court decision(s). The
Supreme Court refused to accept the proposition that a psy-
chological stigma constitutes a “material defect”, regardless of
its potential impact on a home’s value. The court said that any
such judicially crafted standard would be impossible to con-
sistently apply and also would place an unmanageable burden
on sellers; a “slippery slope” that the court was unwilling to
descend. The court also noted, “If there is to be a newly cre-
ated duty to disclose psychological stigma, it should only be
imposed with clear definition by the legislature after careful
consideration of all aspects and ramifications of the issue.”
[Milliken v. Jacono et al., 2014 Pa. LEXIS 1770]

About 28 U.S. jurisdictions have enacted laws that address
the disclosure of “stigmatized” or “psychological impacted”
property information such as previous HIV/AIDS occupants,
murders, suicides and felonies. Most of those limit or elimi-
nate the duty of sellers and/or their agents to disclose such
information. Some, however, such as South Dakota Codified
Laws section 43-4-44, mandates disclosure of a homicide, sui-
cide or other felony committed against the property or a per-
son on the property within the preceding 12 months. Still oth-
ers, such as Georgia’s O.C.G. section 44-1-16, have been
interpreted to require disclosure of information such as prior
homicides or suicides if the buyer asks, but not if the question
implicates state or federal fair housing laws. And some states,
such as Massachusetts,
“alleged parapsychological or supernatural phenomenon” as
matters that do not require disclosure. gizy

have enacted laws that include
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